Keep in mind, most Salesforce org’s have a default limit of 500 roles. Contact support if you think you are going to need more. Tip from Astro: Do you have many inactive users assigned to Roles you plan on deleting? Salesforce won’t allow you to delete a role unless there are no users assigned.
How to delete a role in Salesforce with no users?
Salesforce won’t allow you to delete a role unless there are no users assigned. Consider creating an “Old Employees” role for your distinguished alumni and migrate all of your inactive users to this role. How do you know which option to choose?
How many roles can you have in a Salesforce Org?
Later, when you deploy you can re-parent your top level roles from the placeholder to the top most role and delete the placeholder role. Keep in mind, most Salesforce org’s have a default limit of 500 roles. Contact support if you think you are going to need more.
How does Salesforce calculate the limit of a user license?
Salesforce calculates the limit by multiplying the number of user licenses by 1,000; maximum 1,000,000. For example, if you have 10 licenses, your org can process up to 10,000 email messages a day.
How to test changes to a role hierarchy in Salesforce?
Since large-scale changes to a role hierarchy can have a dramatic impact on how Salesforce controls visibility, you should test your changes in a sandbox. You should test all of your changes in a Sandbox.
What are the implications of deleting fields in Salesforce?
When you delete a custom field, all of the field history data is deleted and changes are no longer tracked. A background process periodically runs that cleans up metadata associated with deleted custom fields.
What happens to deleted records in Salesforce?
Deleted records remain in the Recycle Bin for 15 days, and can be restored during that time. To permanently remove your deleted items before the 15-day period, administrators and users with the “Modify All Data” permission, can click Empty your Recycle Bin or Empty your organization’s Recycle Bin.
What happens when you deactivate a user in Salesforce?
Deactivation removes the user’s login access, but it preserves all historical activity and records, making it easy to transfer ownership to other users. For situations where changing ownership to other uses must be done before deactivation, freezing the user prevents login to the org and access to the user’s accounts.
Can you recover a deleted opportunity in Salesforce?
To restore all deleted items, check the box in the column header and then click Undelete. When you undelete a record, Salesforce restores the record associations for the following types of relationships: Parent accounts (as specified in the Parent Account field on an account)
What happens to records when they are deleted?
After you have deleted records, the records are placed in the Recycle Bin for 15 days, after which they are permanently deleted. While the records are still in the Recycle Bin, you can restore them using the undelete operation.
Can you see deleted tasks on Salesforce?
0:102:57How to Find out Who Deleted a Record in Salesforce – YouTubeYouTubeStart of suggested clipEnd of suggested clipWe are going to learn how to find out who deleted a record in salesforce salesforce administratorsMoreWe are going to learn how to find out who deleted a record in salesforce salesforce administrators can determine who deleted a record by looking at the recycle bin or querying for deleted records via
What is the difference between freezing users and deleting users?
“Freezing” only stops the user from being able to login. When you “deactivate,” it frees up that salesforce license to be given to another user.
Can a user be deleted in Salesforce?
Deactivate a User In Salesforce you are never able to delete a user. Instead, you are able to deactivate them. The benefit is deactivating users is that they aren’t using a license, but you get to have all their historical data.
What is the difference between freeze and deactivate?
Freeze – Temporarily disable the account. Good for returning users. Deactivate – Suspend the user account entirely and they are not returning users.
What is hard delete in Salesforce?
A Salesforce Bulk Delete or Bulk Hard Delete activity deletes a large number of existing records in a Salesforce endpoint and is intended to be used as a target to consume data in an operation.
Is the ID of record changes if we undelete a deleted record in Salesforce?
All recreated records will receive a new unique record ID at the time they are recreated. This needs to be taken into consideration when restoring data with relationship to other records.
How can you tell who deleted a record in Salesforce?
Use the Data LoaderIn the Data Loader, click Export All.Select the object and choose the target for export file. Click Next.Click Select all fields.Create filter ‘IsDeleted’ = True. Click Add Condition.Click Finish.Open the CSV file.Column ‘Last Modified By ID’ is the User record ID that deleted the record.
Per-Transaction Apex Limits
These limits count for each Apex transaction. For Batch Apex, these limits are reset for each execution of a batch of records in the execute method.
Per-Transaction Certified Managed Package Limits
Certified managed packages—managed packages that have passed the security review for AppExchange—get their own set of limits for most per-transaction limits. Salesforce ISV Partners develop certified managed packages, which are installed in your org from AppExchange and have unique namespaces.
Lightning Platform Apex Limits
The limits in this table aren’t specific to an Apex transaction; Lightning Platform enforces these limits.
Why should roles be designed?
Roles should be designed to reflect data access, not your company’s org chart. A common error is to create a role for every position in your company which may not be required. Check out the Data Security Trail that goes over role hierarchy for more information.
Why is role hierarchy redesign important?
In fact, one of the goals of a Role Hierarchy Redesign may be to reduce the number of sharing rules so as to reduce complexity in your sharing and security setup. Carefully review sharing rules since it’s very likely that if there are many role changes there will be corresponding changes needed to your sharing rules.
What is a large scale realignment tool?
There are Tools for Large-Scale Realignments that can help speed up the process of making mass updates to your role hierarchy and user assignments. When making a change to your role hierarchy, you may get locked out of making further changes while the sharing rules are recalculated. This is normal and you should plan for it.
Should you test Salesforce changes in a sandbox?
You should test all of your changes in a Sandbox.
First – You Need to Do Some Research!
When it comes to reviewing your roles, sure you can just look at Setup. But, to look deeper we can use SOQL. While typically used by developers, SOQL can be used by any Admin using tools like Workbench or the Developer Console. Workbench is an open-source community supported tool that allows you to test various integrations and queries. It’s simple to use; just navigate to workb…
Decide on An Approach
So now you have two basic choices: Should you get out a bucket and sponge and go through your role hierarchy role by role and clean it all up (otherwise known as “The Big Clean”) or should you create a brand new role hierarchy leaving your old hierarchy in the past – otherwise known as “Start Fresh”? The Big Clean can be done by exporting all the roles using Data Loaderor Workben…
Build and Test
Since large-scale changes to a role hierarchy can have a dramatic impact on how Salesforce controls visibility, you should test your changes in a sandbox. You should test all of your changes in a Sandbox. Also, did I mention you should test your changes in a Sandbox? Ok, just checking to make sure you are still paying attention! Here is a checklist of things you need to test in a Sandb…
Deploy to Production
Be sure to consider how you are going migrate your users to their new role assignments: 1. By point and click 2. All at once using a tool like the data loader 3. In smaller groups Set aside specific maintenance windows to complete the migration, ideally outside of business hours. This will ensure minimal business impact while the system is being up…